Micky Arthur thought his Sri Lanka crew copped a DRS shocker on Day 2 towards England when Joe Root survived an on-field resolution, and the following evaluate.
After reaching his century, the England star was ‘caught’ after bottom-edging the ball into the bottom, earlier than it jumped up onto his glove and a diving Sri Lanka fielder took a one-handed catch.
The Sri Lankans appealed to no avail, earlier than reviewing the choice. The third umpire watched on because the ball hit the bottom, and didn’t spend an excessive amount of time on the replays, earlier than confirming the on-field name.
Watch Australia v India Take a look at Sequence Reside & Advert-Break Free Throughout Play with the Fox Cricket commentary crew. New to Kayo? Get your free trial now & start streaming instantly >
And whereas it appeared like a comparatively apparent ‘not-out’, the published crew confirmed Arthur completely fuming upstairs as he threw a bottle to the bottom, in full disbelief that Root survived.
“My goodness, he’s misplaced it,” Roshan Abeysinghe mentioned in commentary as Arthur’s blow-up was proven.
“I’m undecided why Micky Arthur is upset,” Owais Shah mentioned. “It was fairly clear.”
Get all the newest cricket information, highlights and evaluation delivered straight to your inbox with Fox Sports activities Sportmail. Sign up now!!!
It wasn’t fully apparent why Arthur believed it was out, though the double contact — first off bat, then off glove — might need satisfied the Sri Lanka coach that Root was out.
Right here’s what the rule says (beneath part 18.104.22.168): “[It’s out] if a fielder catches the ball after it has been lawfully struck greater than as soon as by the striker, however provided that it has not been grounded because it was first struck.”
Arthur might need missed the second half.
Or possibly he thought they have been taking part in one-hand, one-bounce guidelines.